Attending Joint Math Meetings in 2011

I’ll be attending the Joint Mathematics Meetings in New Orleans next January.  It’s going to be a busy time!

Perhaps the most important task I will have relates to the open positions at Claremont McKenna.  We have two searches this year, one in applied math and one in statistics.  I am on both committees, so will be interviewing as many people as possible.

In addition I am also on a panel:  “What I wish I had known before applying for a job.” which is scheduled for 2:45-4:15p.m. on Friday, January 7th, 2011 in Mardi Gras EFGH, 3rd Floor, Marriott.

To help launch the Journal of Humanistic Mathematics, I am coorganizing with Gizem Kaarali and Dagan Karp two sessions at JMM.  The first is Saturday January 8, 2011, 1:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m MAA Session on Humanistic Mathematics, I @ Mardi Gras BC, 3rd Floor, Marriott.  The second is Sunday January 9, 2011, 1:00 p.m.-6:00 p.m., MAA Session on Humanistic Mathematics, II @ Mardi Gras BC, 3rd Floor, Marriott

Finally, I am giving a talk on Sunday January 9, 2011, 10:30 a.m. AMS Session on Probability, I, @ Bayside B, 4th Floor, Sheraton. The talk is Using TPA to count linear extensions. and is based on the summer REU work that I did with Jacqueline Banks, University of California, Riverside, Scott Garrabrant, Pitzer College, and Anne Perizzolo, Columbia University.

Hope to see you there!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

